Presentation of GCIRC

GCIRC (Groupe Consultatif International de Recherche sur le Colza -
International Consultative Group of Research on Rapeseed) is an international association of people interested in technical advance made in the production and processing of this product.
In the Constitution, its aim is defined in two points :

  • to develop scientific and technical research as well as studies and experiments concerning the improvement of rapeseed and its processed products from the agronomic, technological and food points of view ;
  • and to ensure close links between researchers.

To fulfil its aims, GCIRC

  • contributes to the coordination of technical studies carried out in the different countries ;
  • assumes responsibility for establishing the dates and locations of International Rapeseed Congresses dealing with rapeseed research every four years ;
  • and convenes the scientists from different fields and countries in a plenary session or specialized study committees held periodically between two congresses.


The Association is made up of active and honorary members working on rapeseed.
In order to become either of these, one must be presented by at least two members of the Association and accepted by the Board.

The candidates may apply personally or be presented by an Organization. In this case, the subscriptions of the accepted candidates will be paid by the Organization.

The annual subscription is determined by the Board.
Presently, it amounts to 120 euros per person.
If you wish to present your candidature, please send the Registration Form with a short cv and an identity photograph to Laetitia Devedeux

GCIRC, Secretariat, 11 rue de Monceau, CS 60003, 75378-Paris (F)

The General Meeting chooses a Board made up of five members at least and twelve at the utmost.

Today (December 2017), GCIRC is made up of 84 Members (73 Active Members and 11 Honorary Members) coming from 19 different countries.

Presently (and for four years, from 2017 to 2020), the Board is made up of :
 - Dr Wolfgang FRIEDT (Germany) President of GCIRC
 - Dr Petr BARANYK (Czech Republic), past President of GCIRC
 - Dr Iwona BARTKOWIAK-BRODA (Poland)
 - Dr Martin FRAUEN (Germany) 
 - Mr Albin GUNNARSON (Sweden)
 - Dr Wilf KELLER (Canada), past  President of GCIRC
 - Dr Simon KIGHTLEY (United-Kingdom) 
 - Dr Rodney J. MAILER (Australia, past President of GCIRC) 
 - Mr Etienne PILORGE (France, Secretary-Treasurer)
 - Dr Hilmer SØRENSEN (Denmark, past President of GCIRC) 
 - Dr Yongming ZHOU (China) 

The Board members' tenure of office is of four years. The Board chooses a president, a secretary and a treasurer among its members in the framework of the Board meeting following the elective General Assembly..
The headquarters are located at the following address :
11 rue de Monceau, CS 60003, 75378-Paris (F)

Presently, the Association has four Technical Committees :

     presided over by  Dr Michel RENARD (France)
     and Dr Iwona BARTKOWIAK-BRODA (Poland)
     to focus studies on breeding and ensure close links between breeders,

    presided over by Clinton JURKE (Canada) &
    Dr Andreas von TIEDEMANN (Germany)
    to follow progress in cultural techniques and rapeseed crop protection

     presided over by Dr Véronique BARTHET (Canada)
    Dr Alain QUINSAC (France)
     &  Dr Søren Krogh JENSEN (Denmark)

     presided over by  Dr Folkhard ISERMEYER (Germany).

 What are the conditions to become a member of the GCIRC ?

 To become a member of the G.C.I.R.C. , it is necessary :

1. to be presented by two members of the Association
2. to be accepted by the Board and
3. to pay the appropriate membership fees. 

for all information, contact : L. Devedeux at :